Brian Hughes (1938 - )

Brian Hughes is considered to be one of the foremost choral and orchestral composers in Wales today. His works are performed regularly by amateur and professional choirs alike in all parts of the country. He is also a voice trainer and is regarded as one of the main specialists in this field.

He was born in Rhos - Rhosllannerchrugog, Wrexham - in 1938. His choral expertise in particular is based on his experience as conductor of the Alun School Singers, Mold, and then as chorus master at the Royal Northern College of Music, Manchester. He spent over 25 years there as choirmaster and Head of the Opera Music Staff. He has worked with professional choirs such as the Buxton Festival Opera Chorus, the Cheltenham Festival Opera Chorus, the Gothenburg Opera Chorus and has led several choral workshops in different parts of the UK.

He has produced a substantial body of work, varying from large scale choral and orchestral works to works for children and individuals and chamber ensembles. Examples of his works are: Tyger! Tyger! Burning Bright (William Blake’s poem), commissioned by the Llangollen International Eisteddfod in 2007 for the male voice choir competition, Te Deum commissioned by the Harrogate Choral Society, Tanau for symphony orchestra and brass band (commissioned by the Welsh Proms in 2003), Pren Planedig for soprano and orchestra (commissioned by Laudamus), Requiem for mixed and male choirs (commissioned by Trawsnewid), The Bells of Paradise, a concerto for flute, strings and percussion - inspired by the famous bells of Gresford church, one of the seven wonders of Wales (commissioned by Sinfonia Cymru), Troad (commissioned by the National Welsh Youth Orchestra in 2010), Quando, chamber music for clarinet, and Pieces for Miriam for the flute.

His music is full of rhythmic energy and makes full use of dramatic effects, adopting a fresh and contemporary style that has an immediate appeal to the listener.

Works by Brian Hughes published by the Gwynn Publishing Company:
Deryn y Bwn o’r Banna SSA
A Ei Di’r Deryn Du? TTBB
Capel Tygwydd / Rise Up, O Men of God TTBB
Cariad Cyntaf SATB
Dafydd y Garreg Wen TB
Dafydd y Garreg Wen solo

Return to the composers page.